The president of the AMBM, Ivan Normandeau, issued the following statement at the conclusion of the annual convention of the AMM :

At the conclusion of the Association of Manitoba Municipalities (AMM) Annual Convention, I would like to warmly congratulate the newly elected members of the AMM’s Board of Directors. My sincere congratulations to the AMM’s new President, Mr. Kam Blight, and to the two new members of the executive team, Mr. Brad Saluk and Mr. Chris Ewen.

Last but not least, my hat goes off to Ralph Groening, outgoing President of the AMM. Mr. Groening is a long-time ally and great friend of Manitoba’s bilingual municipal leadership.

Our two associations work tirelessly towards achieving tangible results for the order of government closest to our citizens. For the benefit of Manitoba communities, we seek to build strong, supportive and resilient communities.

The AMBM is proud of its continued collaboration and mutual support with AMM on issues that matter to us.

As recently as October 2020, the AMM echoed our demands to the Department of Economic Development and Official Languages to modernize the Official Languages Act and the strengthening of a federal-municipal partnership in this area.

In short, our sincere congratulations to the entire AMM team for another successful year.

For more information: Justin Johnson, Chief Executive Officer, 204-289-4077, [email protected]

The AMBM congratulates the new president of the AMM