AMBM President and Reeve of the Rural Municipality of La Broquerie, Mr. Ivan Normandeau, issued the following statement as the year ends and a new election cycle begins for local governments in Manitoba:

Manitoba’s bilingual municipal leadership wishes you and your families the best Christmas in a long time as well as health, happiness and peace in 2023.

Following the October 2022 municipal elections, each member municipality has designated an elected representative to serve as a director on the AMBM Board of Directors, in addition to a Chief Administrative Officers’ representative.

I am personally honoured to have been nominated by the Rural Municipality of La Broquerie to represent Council on the AMBM Board of Directors and to have been re-elected as AMBM President by my peers at our December 7th, 2022 meeting. In fact, I am proud to be a member of the AMBM leadership, along with Mayor Raymond Maynard, Vice-President (Village of Saint-Pierre-Jolys), Mayor Armand Poirier, Secretary (Rural Municipality of Taché) and Mrs. Liliane Sorin, Treasurer (representing Chief Administrative Officers).

I would also like to congratulate my other fellow directors on the AMBM Board: Mr. Paul Desrosiers (Town of Powerview-Pine Falls), Mayor Yvan Saint-Vincent (Town of Sainte-Anne), Reeve Paul Gilmore (Rural Municipality Montcalm), Reeve Darrel Curé (Rural Municipality of De Salaberry), Councillor Mathieu Allard (City of Winnipeg), Mr. Aimé Pantel (Local Urban District of Somerset), Mayor Chris Ewen (Rural Municipality of Ritchot), Mr. Adrien Caillier (Local Urban District of Saint-Léon), Councillor Diane Dubé (Rural Municipality of Alexander), Councillor Yves Combot (Rural Municipality of Saint-Laurent), Councillor Angelo Fouillard (Rural Municipality of Ellice-Archie), and Councillor Denis Bibault (Local Urban District of Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes)

On December 8th, 2022, the consolidated annual general meeting of the AMBM Group was held, bringing together the stakeholders of the AMBM, the Economic Development Council of Manitoba Bilingual Municipalities (CDEM) and Eco-West Canada (EWC). The consolidated activity report (2021-2022) of the AMBM Group is available here.

As we enter this new four-year election cycle, we are ready to take action and implement our municipal priorities in the new year:

  • Vigorously pursue the deployment of our Economic Recovery Strategy, in collaboration with our two subsidiaries, CDEM and Eco-West Canada.
  • Implement the Municipal Maturity Model (3M) and further develop our delivery of municipal services in both official languages.
  • Equip our municipalities and develop their capacities to welcome and include a greater number of migrant and immigrant families on our territory by offering them the best quality of life. Through economic immigration, the AMBM and its members wish to actively contribute to counter the labour shortage and support the growth of our businesses.
  • Ensure a strong CDEM on the ground to strengthen economic development, especially in rural areas.
  • Ensure that Eco-West Canada supports our municipalities in implementing sustainable solutions for affordable housing, regional and inter-regional transportation, and many other green economy projects, with the collaboration of all three orders of government.
  • Collaborate with all Francophone stakeholders to implement the integrated rural development strategy for Manitoba’s Francophone communities to actively contribute to improving the quality of life in French in our communities.
  • Put in place the conditions for increased collaboration between the three orders of government for the benefit of Francophone minority communities in our territory.

Together, let’s continue to build strong, prosperous and welcoming communities.

Information: Office of the Chief Executive Officer (O-CEO), 204-289-4077, [email protected].

Best wishes for the holidays from Manitoba’s bilingual municipal leadership